skip navigation

Midwest Hockey League 2023 Tournament Recap

By Webmaster, 03/14/23, 1:45PM CDT


Des Moines was host to the 2023 Midwest League championship March 10-12, 2023.  50 youth teams participated across 10u-14u age groups, each age group was broken into 3 divisions: Gold, Silver, and Bronze.  Of the 75+ games that were hosted 45 were decided by 2 goals or less with several going into overtime or shootouts that led to some exciting finishes and memorable celebrations.   

In total 9 teams we’re crowned champions this season, listed below:

Squirt Gold

  • Champions-Omaha Jr Mavs Black
    • Runner Up-Des Moines Jr Buccaneer Red


Squirt Silver

  • Champions-Quad Cities Ice Eagles A
    • Runner Up-Mason City Mohawks


Squirt Bronze

  • Champions-Des Moines Jr Buccaneers White
    • Runner Up-Waterloo Jr Blackhawks B

Peewee Gold

  • Champions-Kansas City Stars Red
    • Runner Up-Cedar Rapids Black

Peewee Silver

  • Champions-Ames Flyers Black
    • Runner Up-Dubuque Jr Saints A

Peewee Bronze

  • Champions-Kansas City Stars Blue
    • Runner Up-Waterloo Jr Blackhawks B

Bantam Gold

  • Champions-Dubuque Jr Saints A
    • Runner Up-Fremont Flyers A

Bantam Silver

  • Champions-Sioux City Gold
    • Runner Up-Ames Flyers Black

Bantam Bronze

  • Champions-Mason City Mohawks
    • Runner Up-Fremont Flyers B